Is Sriracha Gluten Free?

Is Sriracha Gluten Free?

One of the most delicious hot sauces in the world is unquestionably sriracha. It gives a spicy Asian kick to any food you put it on. From chicken to hot dogs to pizza, it goes well on almost any savory food. I’ve even seen someone put it on their popcorn.

Some people call it “chili-garlic sauce” but it’s actually a specific variety of that. There are other types of chili-garlic sauce that aren’t sriracha. Huy Fong Foods is the brand that makes the most famous version, and they have trademarked their unmistakable green cap.

Sriracha is a special flavor that’s a little bit spicy but not enough to really burn your tongue. It’s only a 2 on the Scoville spiciness scale, but for people who don’t have a high tolerance to spicy, it might seem pretty hot.

Where Does Sriracha Come from?

Sriracha SauceSriracha is a city in Thailand, not too far from Bangkok. The inventor of the sauce, ThanomChakkapak, is from there, so she named her delicious product after her beloved hometown. The version commonly found in Thailand is sweet and has a more runny consistency, while the version that has taken the rest of the world by storm has a thick consistency with its patented green cap.

It is, of course, still possible to find the infamous Huy Fong version in Thailand though.

The sauce is also quite popular is Vietnam and other countries as a spicy chili-garlic sauce with more of a chunky consistency. It’s a little spicier but just as delicious and mouthwatering. Huy Fong also makes their own green-capped jar version of this variation, which is definitely recommended if you can find it.

Gluten Intolerance

Gluten allergies or sensitivities are more commonly being recognized nowadays as being responsible for a slew of digestive problems and other health issues. The symptoms can be very unpleasant, including being bloated, having uncomfortable bowels, difficulty passing bowels, stomach pains, migraines, fatigue, depression, irritation of the skin or rashes, and even weight loss.

Needless to say, for those who suffer from it, avoiding gluten at all costs is an absolute must. Their daily lives will improve along with their health as a whole.

What in the World is Gluten?

Gluten is a category of two different types of proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, and other grains. The two types are called glutenin and gliadin. Basically, gluten is the spongy substance that gives bread its sticky fluffiness.

It’s delicious and harmless for those of us without a sensitivity to it, but for others it simply isn’t worth eating it to have to deal with all of the negative side effects.

Do Any of Sriracha’s Ingredients Have Gluten?

If you or someone close to you has an intolerance to gluten, you will definitely want to check first if sriracha contains gluten or not before serving or eating it. Simply checking the label is obviously a good place to start, but some ingredients contain gluten without explicitly saying it.

In order to make totally certain that you don’t eat or serve something that has gluten, let’s find out exactly what sriracha is made of and whether or not it contains any amount of gluten.

What is Sriracha Made from?

Sriracha has a fairly short list of ingredients labeled on the bottle. In order, they are:

  • Chili
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Distilled vinegar
  • Potassium sorbate
  • Sodium bisulfite
  • Xanthan gum

As you can see, no type of wheat-based products are included here. Potassium sorbate and sodium bisulfate are both preservatives, while xanthan gum is used as a thickener. Interestingly enough, xanthan gum can be used as a substitute for gluten in various recipes! The rest of the ingredients are quite self-explanatory.


Sriracha is indeed gluten-free, so if you or someone close to you has a gluten allergy or sensitivity, go ahead and enjoy as much sriracha as your heart desires. If it’s your first time trying it, just be careful not to put too much on your food because it might be too spicy for you to handle!